Scholarship Program

Cowboy Capital Pro Rodeo Association Scholarship Program

Cowboy Capital Scholarship Shootout

Along with producing a first class professional rodeo, the mission of the CCPRA – a non-profit foundation – is to encourage the younger generation to further their education as they enjoy and appreciate the western way of life. In 2016, proceeds from the rodeo allowed the committee to give out over $10,000 in scholarship funds to deserving high school students. In a one of a kind event only found in Stephenville, the future stars of pro rodeo are invited to showcase their talents in a match, head to head formatted rodeo with $1,000 scholarships up for grabs. The Texas High School Rodeo Association Champion in each event from Region 3 and Region 10 (which both overlap the Stephenville area) have earned a spot in the 2017, 3rdannual Cowboy Capital Scholarship Shootout.

Rodeo fans will have the opportunity to cheer on these high school rodeo champions on Sunday, September 24, during the last performance of the PRCA rodeo. Right before each of the PRCA events, the Scholarship Shootout students will compete, with the winner of the match walking away a $1,000 scholarship!

2017 THSRA Region 3 Qualifiers

Bareback Riding – Colby Fedor
Steer Wrestling – Parker Emola
Team Roping Heading – Ty Harris
Team Roping Heeling – Paden Bray
Saddle Bronc Riding – Jake Vance
Tie Down Roping – Paden Bray
Barrel Racing (tie) – Kody Criswell
Barrel Racing (tie) – Kylee Scribner
Bull Riding – Canyon Crenshaw

2017 THSRA Region 10 Qualifiers

Bareback Riding – Leighton Berry
Steer Wrestling – Parker Fleet
Team Roping Heading – Garett Chick
Team Roping Heeling – Kirby Blankenship
Saddle Bronc Riding – Parker Fleet
Tie Down Roping – Levi Boatright
Barrel Racing – Danielle Harmon
Bull Riding – Cimaronn Rucker

2017 Cowboy Capital Scholarship Shootout Supporters

Busby Quarter Horses – Jeff & Andrea Busby

Jeff Sewalt Ironman Invitational Scholarships

The CCPRA also awards scholarships on the collegiate level. The award winning Tarleton State University Rodeo Team is the very deserving recipient of two $2,500 scholarships every year. The proceeds from the Jeff Sewalt Ironman Invitational, held before Rodeo Heritage Week, support this area of our scholarship program. Potential applicants must be a member of the TSU Rodeo Team, fill out application, write essay, and complete personal interviews.

2017 Sewalt Scholarship Recipients

  • Wesley Sims
  • Skyler Maguire

Become Involved!

If you or your business wish to support the future of professional rodeo by helping them obtain a college education, please support the CCPRA’s efforts in our scholarship programs. We would GREATLY appreciate it! Our goal is to award more money to more student rodeo athletes! All donations are tax deductible. Checks payable to CCPRA and can be mailed to PO Box 55 – Stephenville, Tx – 76401.


Charles Tuner (254)977-2444 or

Martha Wright (254)968-3661 or